The Luben was built in 1912 and were located at 234 Watson Street at the corner of Brush Street on Detroit’s near east side, in the city’s Brush Park neighborhood. The Luben was often called “The Castle,” as it most certainly resembled a castle in it’s design. The Luben was a four-story apartment building that was designed in a Richardson Romanesque architectural style by Detroit architect Edwin W. Gregory. The façade of the Luben was made with large, light-tan, Casota-limestone blocks and featured a set of arched windows that sat directly below the building’s fourth floor and served as the building’s exterior centerpiece. The Luben’s most prominent feature was it’s distinctive turrets on each side of the building that gave it’s castle-like appeal. The rooftop cornice of the Luben had a unique peak that was actually rounded-arches that made up the stone pediment.
The Luben was considered to be luxurious-style living in Detroit. Throughout the years, as the population of Detroit continued to decrease, so did the population of Brush Park and obviously, the Luben. The Luben finally closed in 1987 and had been abandoned ever since.
When the Luben closed in 1987, the building was quickly looted and taken over by vagrants and drug addicts. The Luben never made it to see the resurge of the Brush Park neighborhood as in late 2010, the Luben Apartments burned down in a suspicious fire. The City of Detroit quickly moved in and demolished the remaining portion that was left standing. The Luben was completely demolished by the end of 2010.
As of 2015, a large empty lot sits on the site of the former Luben.